Prior to the Great Barriers in Planet Formation conference in Queensland, we will be hosting a "slow" conference, with 3-4 talks per day and plenty of time for disc-ussion and collaboration on protoplanetary discs and planet formation.

15th-19th July 2019, Monash University (Clayton Campus), Melbourne, Australia

The afternoon will be set aside for discussion and collaboration, with some hands-on tutorials on using Phantom and MCFOST for disc modelling

Registration is now open HERE for the workshop activities, and kindly requested before the last day of the workshop (July 19).


If your browser does not display the program below, it can also be downloaded here.



Registration is free but the conference dinner and excursion will need to be paid separately HERE.


The conference will be held in the large lounge on the 4th Floor of New Horizons Building
20 Research Way, Clayton Campus, Monash University
Clayton, Victoria, Australia.

The cheapest way to get here from Melbourne airport (Tullamarine) is to take the Skybus to Southern Cross Station, jump on a train to Huntingdale (Pakenham/Cranbourne line) and then catch the 601 shuttle bus from Huntingdale station to the campus. Once at the campus bus station, you will finally have to cross the campus from South to North to reach the New Horizons building (which has a recognizable "XBOX shape"). Total cost is around $25. Check the ptv website for details.

The fastest way to get here from the airport is in a taxi, but it will cost you around $120 AUD.

Our recommmended accommodation option is Mannix college. Otherwise you can check hotels close to campus. Staying somewhere in South Yarra is another option which is on the train line to Monash (30 mins to campus) but in a lively area closer to the centre of Melbourne.


Alison Young (University of Leicester)
Alvaro Ribas (ESO)
Anas Taha (University of Baghdad)
Andrew Winter (University of Leicester)
Arnaud Vericel (Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon)
Bella Gerrard (Monash University)
Benedetta Veronesi (Università degli Studi di Milano)
Brodie Norfolk (Swinburne University)
Cassandra Hall (University of Leicester)
Catherine Dougados (Institut de Planetologie et d'Astrophysique de Grenoble)
Chris Ormel (University of Amsterdam)
Christophe Pinte (Monash University)
Daniel Mentiplay (Monash University)
Daniel Price (Monash University)
Diego Munoz (Northwestern University)
Enrico Ragusa (University of Leicester)
Geoffrey Bryan (Swinburne University)
Giulia Ballabio (University of Leicester)
Giuseppe Lodato (University of Milan)
James Wurster (University of Exeter)
Jean-François Gonzalez (Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon)
Josh Calcino (University of Queensland)
Karina Maucó (Universidad de Valparaíso)
Kieran Hirsch (CRAL/ENS Lyon)
Leonardo Testi (ESO)
Malena Rice (Yale University)
Maria Giulia Ubeira Gabellini (Università statale di Milano)
Martina Toscani (University of Milan)
Matthew Bate (University of Exeter, UK)
Maxime Lombart (CRAL/ENS Lyon)
Nicolás Cuello (Institute of Astrophysics – PUC, Chile)
Nienke van der Marel (NRC Herzberg)
Osifo John Osaro (University of Ibadan)
Rebecca Nealon (University of Leicester)
Sahl Rowther (University of Warwick)
Sarah Maddison (Swinburne University)
Sebastián Pérez (Universidad de Santiago de Chile)
Sergei Biriukov (Monash University)
Simon Casassus (Universidad de Chile)
Teresa Paneque (Universidad de Chile)
Valentin Christiaens (Monash University)



Local organising committee:

Valentin Christiaens

Daniel Price

Christophe Pinte

Daniel Mentiplay

Bella Gerrard

Sergei Biriukov

Scientific organising committee:

Daniel Price

Christophe Pinte

Valentin Christiaens