21st-26th July 2019
Palm Cove, Queensland, Australia
Great Barriers
Planet Formation
Image: Protoplanetary disc around IM Lupi
Credit: Avenhaus+2018/DARTTS-S/ESO/SPHERE

We are made of dust. How does this dust collect in protoplanetary discs to form planets like the Earth and people like us?

Since 2013 high-resolution observations of protoplanetary discs have been made with ALMA, VLT-SPHERE and other telescopes. Can we make sense of them? We aim to bring together theory and observations to understand how nature overcomes the `Great Barriers' in the planet formation process

The conference will follow a 3-week program of activities on protoplanetary discs at Monash University in Melbourne as part of the EU-funded DUSTBUSTERS collaboration

"Inside the Taurus star-forming complex, HL Tau is a young star..."

ALMA partnership et al. (2015).
And so it began.

Dates: 21st-26th July 2019

Venue: Palm Cove, Queensland, Australia

  • 1st-5th July: Arrival and DUSTBUSTERS collaboration week at Monash University in Melbourne
  • 10th-12th July: Phantom/MCFOST users workshop (near Melbourne, location TBC)
  • 15th-19th July: Disc-ussion workshop at Monash University in Melbourne. This will be in the form of a "slow" conference, with 3-4 talks per day and plenty of time for collaboration and discussion.
    A welcome reception will be held 5pm-9pm on the Sunday evening (21st July). We encourage everyone to arrive on Sunday or earlier to explore the area and kick off discussions.

    Giulia Ballabio
    Nicolás Cuello
    Ian Czekala
    Carsten Dominik
    Linn Eriksson
    J-F Gonzalez
    Maria Giulia Ubeira Gabellini
    Cassandra Hall
    Kieran Hirsh
    Grant Kennedy
    Kurt Liffman
    Min-Kai Lin
    Sarah Maddison
    Sebastian Marino
    James Miley
    Rebecca Nealon
    Daniel Price
    Enrico Ragusa
    Clément Robert
    Malena Rice
    Jake Simon
    Judit Szulagyi
    Ryosuke Tominaga
    Martina Toscani
    Arnaud Vericel
    Benedetta Veronesi


    The conference will be held at the Palm Cove conference centre in Palm Cove, Queensland, Australia

    The nearest airport is Cairns international airport

    For tourism, we recommend setting aside the Saturday following the conference for a boat trip to the Outer Reef. These depart daily from Cairns (you can also arrange pickup/dropoff from Palm Cove).


    We have a special rate negotiated at the conference hotel. To receive this rate book via Tel +61 7 4729 2000 or groups@hgcpalmcove.com.au.

    Room typeRoom only+1 breakfast+2 breakfast
    Standard room$120$135$150
    Superior room$140$155$170
    Standard suite$160$175$190
    Superior suite$180$195$210

    A description of each room type is available here. Note that the special rates above are only valid for single, twin or double occupancy of the rooms.

    The venue will also price-match any quote obtained from an external website (e.g. specials).

    Palm cove is a small town, so any hotel in Palm Cove will be within walking distance of the conference venue.


    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER. Be quick! Early bird closes 1st March 2019 and numbers are limited.

    March 1st, 2019: Early bird registration deadline.
    Standard/Student fares: 500/370 AUD.

    March 1st, 2019: Deadline for title/abstract submission for contributed talks and posters.

    April 30th, 2019: Final registration deadline.
    Standard/Student fares: 600/480 AUD.

    Registration fee includes conference related costs, Sunday welcome reception, all tea/coffee breaks, Monday to Friday lunches, conference dinner and excursion to a crocodile farm.

    Please be assured all user information submitted as part of the registration process will be used only for the purpose of organising the conference itself (and the pre-conference program), to comply with GDPR regulations.


    Submit your title/abstract separately via the form below:


    (please include "great barriers" in the title for email queries)


    Daniel Price
    Simon Casassus
    Valentin Christiaens
    J-F. Gonzalez
    Kaitlin Kratter
    Guillaume Laibe
    Giuseppe Lodato
    Christophe Pinte
    Jonathan Williams


    Daniel Price (chair)
    Christophe Pinte (co-chair)
    Valentin Christiaens
    Daniel Mentiplay
    Josh Calcino
    Rebecca Nealon